Welcome to this week’s social media quick tip. This week I want to show you how to use the Mute feature on Twitter.
Mute is a handy feature on Twitter, which if you’re not familiar with, can be a real boon to your Twitter experience. It allows you to remove an account’s Tweets from your timeline without unfollowing or blocking that account. Muted accounts will not know that you’ve muted them and you can unmute them at any time.
How To Mute An Account
Some things to note about Mute:
- Muted accounts can follow you and you can follow muted accounts. Muting an account will not cause you to unfollow them.
- Muting an account does not impact the account’s ability to send you a Direct Message.
- You will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from any muted account.
- Replies and mentions by the muted account will still appear in your Notifications tab.
- Tweets from a muted account – posted before the account was muted – will be removed from your Home timeline.
- When you click or tap into a conversation, replies from muted accounts will be visible.
How To Mute Conversations, Keywords, and Hashtags
Twitter also gives you the option to mute Tweets that contain particular words, phrases, usernames, emojis, or hashtags. Muting will remove these Tweets from your Notifications tab, push notifications, SMS, email notifications, Home timeline, and from replies to Tweets.
If you would like to stop receiving notifications for a particular conversation, you can choose to mute it. When you mute a conversation, you won’t get any new notifications about that conversation. You will, however, still see Tweets from the conversation in your timeline and when you click into the original Tweet.
For more on how to use this feature, visit advanced muting options on Twitter.