Posted in #HCSM, Thursday Tip

#ThursdayTip: How To Use Twitter’s Conversation Settings

Welcome to this week’s quick social media tip.

Today I want to show you how to use Twitter’s Tweet Reply conversation setting. 

Last August Twitter rolled out this function to users to give people more control over the conversations they start.

Sometimes people are more comfortable talking about what’s happening when they can choose who can reply. Users in the test pool have said that they feel more comfortable tweeting, and more protected from spam and abuse, which has lead to them tweeting longer, more in-depth thoughts, particularly on sensitive subjects.

Here’s how it works

Before you Tweet, choose who can reply with three options:

  1. Everyone (the default, standard setting)
  2. Only people you follow
  3. Only people you mention

 

Tweets with the latter two settings will be labeled and the reply icon will be grayed out for people who can’t reply. People who can’t reply will still be able to view, Retweet, Retweet with Comment, share, and like these Tweets.

I admit I haven’t used the feature, but it’s interesting to see how some brands are utilising it here.

How about you? Do you think this is a useful feature?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s